Public Trustee

Email Policy

The Arapahoe County Public Trustee's Office acknowledges receipt of all email we receive. If you do not receive a response, we did not receive your email.

What We Do

The Public Trustee handles :

  • Foreclosures of Deeds of Trust
  • Releases of Deeds of Trust
  • Tax Escrow Accounts for land purchase contracts for properties located in Arapahoe County.

What We Don't Do

The Public Trustee does not:

  • Give legal advice – please contact an attorney or the Free Foreclosure Hotline (877-601-4673).
  • Handle Tax Sales - please contact the County Treasurer
  • Handle Judicial Foreclosures - please contact the Sheriff 720-874-3845
  • Release private trustee mortgage transactions – Please contact the Clerk and Recorder
  • Handle federal auctions, such as HUD or VA
  • Have information regarding liens on foreclosed property – Please contact the Clerk and Recorder
  • Have access to the foreclosed property
  • Process evictions - please contact the Sheriff 720-874-3845

Foreclosure Sales

The Arapahoe County Public Trustee holds foreclosure sales at 10 a.m. on Wednesdays.

County Administration Building 
East Hearing Room
5334 South Prince St.
Littleton, CO 80120

NOTICE: No sale will be held:
Wednesday, September 6, 2023
Wednesday, October 4, 2023
Wednesday, November 8, 2023
Wednesday, November 22, 2023
Wednesday, December 27, 2023

Delays or Closures
If there is a county-wide delayed start or closure on the day of the sale, the sale will be continued to the next week that a sale is scheduled. When in effect, delay and closure notices are posted on the homepage of

Notice to an Owner in Foreclosure

Prohibition of Dual Tracking

If you, as the borrower, believe that a lender or servicer has failed to provide you with a single point of contact, as required by Colorado law (C.R.S. §38-38-103.1) or that the lender is pursuing foreclosure despite the fact that you submitted a completed loss mitigation, or you have been offered and accepted a loss mitigation option, pursuant to C.R.S. §38-38-103.2, you may file a complaint with the Colorado Attorney General, the Federal Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB), or both. The filing of a complaint will not stop the foreclosure process.

Colorado Attorney General website
Consumer Financial Protection Bureau website

Overbid Funds

If your property goes to foreclosure auction sale and is sold for more than the total owed to the lender and to all other lien holders, you may be entitled to any remaining funds. C.R.S. 38-38-111 (2.5)(a) Please call our office at (303) 730-0071 to find out if you are entitled to any remaining funds. If you contact us directly, there is no cost to you to claim any excess funds owed to you.

Finder's Fee

It is now illegal to charge a Finder's Fee to help a homeowner recover overbid funds until at least 2-1/2 years after the foreclosure sale.

Transfer of Ownership Ownership of the property does not transfer until all redemption periods have expired and the title vests with the new owner. This could be as soon as 8 business days after the foreclosure sale or longer, depending on whether any junior lienholders have filed Intents to Redeem.

Public Trustee Open Records Fee Policy

The Arapahoe County Public Trustee may charge for research and retrieval time necessary to respond to requests for records under the Colorado Open Records Act (“CORA”) in order to pay for the cost of staff and custodians of public records. Pursuant to C.R.S. §24-72-205(6), effective July 1, 2014, staff time may be charged at a rate not to exceed $30.00 per hour. There shall be no charge for the first hour of time for research and retrieval of records.

When a record custodian receives a CORA request, the custodian may estimate the research and retrieval time it will take to research and retrieve the records requested. The estimate of time and the appropriate fee may be provided to the requester before work is performed, to determine if the requester seeks to move forward with his/her request, understanding the associated cost. The custodian may require the requester to pay the fee before proceeding to research and retrieve the records. If the requester pays the fee based on the estimate and the time necessary to subsequently perform the research and retrieval of the records is less than the estimate, the custodian shall give a refund to the requester.

2023 Holidays

Arapahoe County offices will be closed in observance of these holidays:
New Year's Day (Observed) – Monday, January 2, 2023
Martin Luther King Jr. Day - Monday, January 16, 2023
Presidents Day - Monday, February 20, 2023
Memorial Day - Monday, May 29, 2023
Juneteenth - Monday, June 19, 2023
Independence Day - Tuesday, July 4, 2023
Labor Day - Monday, September 4, 2023
Arapahoe Day - Monday, October 2, 2023
Veteran's Day (Observed) - Friday, November 10, 2023
Thanksgiving Day - Thursday, November 23, 2023
Day after Thanksgiving - Friday, November 24, 2023
Christmas Day - Monday, December 25, 2023
Christmas (Observed) - Tuesday, December 26, 2023


This website is intended to provide general information only. Please consult a lawyer for advice on a specific situation, or contact the
FREE Foreclosure Hotline:
Phone: 877-601-4673